LIFE | Quotes I Live By

I’ve been feeling pretty lethargic lately and so I’ve decided to do this post mostly as a reminder for myself and others out there who may be struggling with things. These quotes are a collection from various places. I have no idea where I’ve come to find some of these quotes/motivational sayings, so all credit to the originals, but these are just a few that have stuck with me across time.

“Sometimes, you have to burn things down.”

Essentially, you gotta do what you gotta do. Sometimes, you need to break rules in order to get what you need. If setting fire to old ways leads to new productive ways, then forge ahead! It’s important to not get stuck in the same old routine and become entrapped in ways that might not be working for you. This also speaks to the rebellion in me as it’s a reminder to not just follow along with what everyone else does merely because it’s popular or what is expected. Forge your own way ahead, even if that means burning all the bad things in your path. While this can be taken positively and twisted in a negative way, it’s important to remember that just because something is accepted by society, it doesn’t mean anything opposing that is wrong or doesn’t belong.

“Failure and setbacks are like a canon. While the canon bounces back after being fired, it also launches something far away.”

As far as I’m concerned, I’ve never seen this quote anywhere. It just popped into my head one day and I think it’s a decent analogy for life in general. As failure and disappointments will bog you down, don’t forget that at the end, you’ll have been launched forward into new and better things. I’m always weary about the ideology that working hard gets you places, because realistically, sometimes it doesn’t. There are people who can work incredibly hard only to find themselves in the same place they were last year. Then we all know those on the opposite side of the spectrum who basically get everything handed to them on a golden platter. Without being setback the canon wouldn’t launch very far. It’s only through these setbacks that you can fly far away and achieve things.

“You do you.”

Basic, but necessary in surviving this world. This is kind of at the core of all quotes honestly. At the end of everything, you have to be you 100%. You do what you want, as you’re the best one who knows what’s right for you. Paying no mind to what others think about you is the best way to live in my opinion. While taking into consideration things like other peoples thoughts, feelings, and opinions are obviously important. When it comes to how you want to dress, what career path you want to take, the thoughts you think, you are entitled to do as you please.

“Living life without passions and dreams is like being dead.”

Pretty self explanatory, but powerful. Not having a dream, passion, or hobby in life seems pretty sad. You want to have something that excites you, something that gets you out of your bed each day, and something that you want to achieve. In the end, those who follow their dreams and passions are happier because they get to do what they love. Doing what you love is something that is super important to me, I’ve touched on this topic in another one of my posts on why I want to be a teacher, and it’s something that everyone should work towards in their lifetime. Without any passions, there’s nothing to excite and entice you to live life to the fullest.

“Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing is going to get better. It’s not.”

Yes, I’m ending this on a Dr. Seuss quote because it speaks volumes to me personally. This is again, another agency quote. Put simply, if you want something to change, you have to do it. No one is going to make anything better for you, no one will waltz in your life, clean up your messes, and fix you. As blunt and straightforward as this is, it’s the reality and is something everyone should be aware of. If you want to do something in your life, you have to be the one to take charge and get it done.

I could probably go on and on with these quotes, but these are the top five that I genuinely do try to follow in my life on a day to day base. While most are self-agency and being you quotes, they are the most basic underlining ideas behind every other quote or motivational quip. I’d really like to know if you have a motto or some quote you really love and why that is! Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment